Do You Wanna Be a GIRLBOSS?

At this point, every aspiring young woman has read Sophia’s book GIRLBOSS about how she made the most epic come up & came to own Nasty Gal. Now that I’m starting the Netflix original version of the tale, I’m inspired to re-evaluate what being a girlboss means to me. Here are my thoughts.

To me, being a girlboss is like 70% confidence (as a fair warning please don’t hold me to these percentages – this entire thought is a work in progress). The most confident girl in the world can walk into a place and own it, simply because she thinks she was meant to be there. If you don’t have confidence in yourself, unfortunately no one else will either. Don’t allow yourself to shrink because you don’t feel good enough, qualified enough, strong enough – whatever it may be. You’re hurting your chances!

The next 20% is definitely hard work. It’s pretty simple really. How are you going to be a boss with little work ethic? You only reap what you sow, so if you want something go after it with full force. If you aren’t going to give it your all, honestly what’s the point. As my friend Jaymee would say, we all need to remember our personal brand. If your personal brand is slacking most of the time, people won’t trust your work. I mean, confidence can’t get you everywhere.

Style definitely has to be my next 10%. As I grow up (LOL) I’m realizing the importance of personal style. No matter how you want to look at it, your style is a literal representation of who you are and what you stand for. It’s not ‘just clothes’ – they define you and allow for some serious self expression. As a girlboss, you’re someone who people look up to and go for advice. Why not look good doing it?

I’ll be graduating college in roughly 2 weeks, to take on the Big Apple in my first big girl job where I will literally be working to become a girlboss myself. Let’s chat later about how my thoughts have changed.

Leave a Reply

