Best Day Ever?

How do you know when a day has been the best day of your life?

Weird existential crisis question – I know. I feel like most people’s best day is the day they cross, graduate, or get married. All are typical markers of huge transitions in life – moving onto something “bigger” than the previous state.

As I sit in bed & recap on today (well, technically yesterday) – it really may have been my best day. Ever. But, can that really even be true?

I literally woke up to the BEST news in the world. Since Summer 2015, I’ve been searching and applying for internships nonstop. There was a point in time where internships were the only thing on my mind. As a former pre-med student who is a PR major, I’ve been going crazy trying to prove to myself and employers that I am suited for the business world.

I made a pretty extensive Google Sheets form with any internship that I was even remotely interested in (it’s color coded so you know it’s real). I learned how to/the power of networking. Then, I actually networked. LinkedIn & I are now besties. I researched. I went to conferences. I practiced my pitch and selling points. I spent too much on business attire. I panicked. I cried. I doubted myself.

Over the course of the semester, I had (about?) six interviews and two assessments. Each one I used as a stepping stone to the next. They taught me how to tackle behavioral questions. They allowed me to reflect on how my experiences can be expressed as transferable skills for certain positions. They taught me to be confident in the skills I’ve gained. I received a few rejections and have still yet to hear back from companies. However, I wiped my tears and literally kept working.

Honestly, I don’t think I’ve wanted anything more in my life. I was going to get my foot in the corporate door no matter what it took.

Just when I was really doubting myself, one of my faves (*cough, cough* Michaela) told me:

“…you have so much potential. You’ve just got to trust that the right people will be able to see that.”

Probably the most profound/influential thing she’s ever said to me. Unless you truly got it like that, every opportunity won’t be for you. There are a lot of factors that go into getting an offer, but that doesn’t make you less great or have less potential. I had to keep believing in myself & the work I’ve put in.

Two days later, I woke up to my offer from P&G for the assistant brand manager role – a place that has, since my introduction to the company at an MLT seminar, made me feel welcomed and a role that culminates my experiences, skill set, and passions.

Congratulations & well-wishes poured into my mentions, GroupMe, and inbox. I don’t think I’ve ever had a day where I felt more loved and supported. Being this happy legitimately felt like a dream. Seeing the excitement on my mom & grandma’s faces as I told them the news was priceless.

It’s almost like all my hard work was paying off: I finally made the Dean’s List for the first time at Carolina and the opportunity to impact consumers globally. All my struggles since the summer suddenly showed their purpose. The small L’s manifested into big W’s.

I can’t wait to keep grinding & see what other surprises/opportunities are coming in 2016.

Thanks SO much for the love & support. Today may have not been the best day ever, but it’s definitely the best day yet.

xox, Kiana

Leave a Reply

